Water Dragon Weekly Sunday Post: Recipe

MOM’S CHILI

Chili makes a great meal no matter what time of year it is!  It’s perfect for a camping supper in the summer, a nice hot dinner in the winter, and a one-pot dish on a cool spring or fall evening.

This is another of my mom’s recipes.  It’s been in our family for many decades.  
You can give this dish your own “signature style” by adding or subtracting ingredients.  Use it as a base and get creative!
It’s easy to control how spicy our Chili is.   The only spice is chili powder.   Add more or less, as you prefer.
In our house, my husband gets the chili powder bottle with his meal, so he can add as much as he wants!

Mom's Chili...hot and ready to eat! Yum!

 

RECIPE FOR MOM’S CHILI:

2 lbs ground beef
5 or 6 onions, chopped or sliced
1/2 cup celery  (we omit this)
1- 28 oz can stewed tomatoes (or crushed, diced, Italian, etc)
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon chili powder, (add more to taste if desired)
2 cans kidney beans, rinsed and drained.

Brown meat, drain fat.  Sauté onions & celery in same pot with beef, until onions are starting to get soft.  Add other ingredients, cover and simmer for 30 minutes on top of stove.  Add beans, continue to cook, uncovered, for 30 minutes.

Topping suggestions: *if desired:  sour cream, light sour cream or plain yogurt, shredded cheese (mozzarella, cheddar or American), crushed tortilla chips, jalapeno  peppers.

Thanks for viewing Mom’s Chili RECIPE!
***If you would like to join the 2012 Water Dragon Weekly Sunday Post , go to:   https://jakesprinter.wordpress.com
 You’ll be able to sign up there and get the Water Dragon logo for your blog.  Then you’ll receive weekly emails advising you of that Sunday’s challenge.  It’s fun!  Join us!

Judy

All text and images are copyright © 2002-2012 and are the exclusive property of Judy Johnson (unless otherwise indicated). All Rights Reserved. All Images are protected under United States and International copyright laws. None of the images on this site are in the Public Domain.

 

23 thoughts on “Water Dragon Weekly Sunday Post: Recipe

  1. Great entry for this week themes Judy I love the ingredients of your recipe
    I know it`s very yummy Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. mmm… looks yummy.
    We use quite a lot of chili powder- even 4 to 5 spoons in fish curries! But I never knew you use it in your recipes. Must be really hot!

    • It may be the same stuff…I just don’t like real “spicy” food! The rest of my family does! I love curry, but, once again, I use very little in my cooking! I’m a wus! 😉

    • Good question! Mine certainly isn’t “Hottie” 😉 I don’t use enough chili powder to qualify for “hot n’ spicy”!! It would be interesting to find out how the name got started!

  3. And I thought the staple diet was “Steak and Eggs”. Looks great Judy. I am very fond of Chilli, so perhaps I will ask Doreen to try your recipe.

    • Glad to hear that, Jim! If you like it spicy…do add more. I’m a weakling when it comes to hot and spicy food. The rest of my family loves it!

      • I thought I knew what Haggis was made from! But reading wiki just now I found I was missing some of the “tasty” ingredients! I tend to be a bit of a squeamish eater. I like to try new things, but when I mistakenly ate squid, thinking it was pasta…. 🙂 oops! I guess steak & eggs do appear on every breakfast menu…but give me a bowl of oatmeal and I’m deliriously happy! Thanks for your fun comment, Jim…and the link!

  4. Pingback: Sunday Post – Light | imexcited

  5. Pingback: Weekly Sunday Post: Light | Inspired Vision

I'd love to hear from you~