Weekly Photo Challenge: Arrange

Definition of: Arrange, arranged, arranging, arrangement:  to put into a proper order or into a correct or suitable sequence, relationship, or adjustment.  Examples: arrange flowers in a vase, arrange cards alphabetically.  (Merriam-Webster Dictionary)

Early in the morning, Baltimore Harbor is quiet.  Even the paddle boats are resting, with a slight bobbing motion now and then, all arranged in rows.   They are waiting for the crowds to appear to take them for bumpy jaunts around the harbor.  But for now, the paddle boats’ arrangement is peaceful.

The paddle boats in Baltimore Harbor are arranged in rows.

There can be high winds off Lake Michigan in the winter.  In Muskegon’s Pere Marquette beach area, the sand blows straight off the beach and into the yards of the homes across the road.  I’ve seen the sand a foot or more deep in these yards.  To help,  Muskegon arranges snow fences in lines, rows and in grid patterns on the beach.  This helps contain the sand.

On the Pere Marquette Beach in Muskegon, the snow fences are arranged specifically to keep the sand from blowing off the beach and across the road.

For the last two years, we have walked the mighty Mackinac Bridge on Labor Day.  The suspension bridge is five miles long and connects Upper Michigan to Lower Michigan.  The bridge has many cables.  There are huge tubular cables that run from the beginning of the bridge all the way up to the top of the towers.  Coming down from those huge cables are narrower suspension cables that connect to hold the road in place.  (you can tell I’m not an engineer!)  Those cables are arranged in a particular sequence. 

The suspension cables on the Mackinac Bridge are arranged in a particular sequence.

I apologize for the last photo’s blurriness.  The bridge moves with so many people walking on it.  Of course, that’s what suspension bridges are made to do…flex and move.

Thanks for visiting!  I can arrange for another visit for you! lol  😉

Have a good evening.
Judy

All text and images are copyright © 2002-2012 and are the exclusive property of Judy Johnson (unless otherwise indicated). All Rights Reserved. All Images are protected under United States and International copyright laws. None of the images on this site are in the Public Domain.

40 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Arrange

  1. Hi Judy,
    great selection of arrangements. I followed your last link – you got me. Thought I would find another arrangement post. Well I guess I did – a definition of the of the word.
     
    thanks for sharing!

    • Oh ….sorry! I was joking. Thanks for your comments. I need to subscribe to your blog, even though I’m following you. I have missed far too many of your good posts. If I don’t have the email notification coming in under my nose, I miss posts!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Arranged « The Sacred Cave

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Arranged… | Mirth and Motivation

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge ~ Arranged « An Uneducated Palate

  5. Nice post Judy. I see from the Mackinac bridge website that this is an organized event, with many thousands taking part. You wouldn’t want it to rain on this 2 – 3 hour journey. Well done.

    • No….we always hope for no rain! The first year it was pouring all night before the walk, and it was quite cool. We left the hotel in pouring rain at 5:30 a.m. to catch the bus that takes us to the north side of the bridge. (Then everyone walks south over the bridge.) While we were riding on the bus the rain stopped and it never rained again. I got some beautiful sunrise photos that morning. We usually have breakfast and then take the ferry to Mackinac Island for the day. It’s a beautiful island that recalls times past. No cars are allowed. Only horse drawn carriages and bicycles. http://www.mackinacisland.org/

      • Hi Judy, I know of Mackinac Island. The time-travel/romance movie “Somewhere in Time” was filmed here and starred Christopher Reeve, Jane Seymour and Christopher Plummer. A superb movie, of which I have a copy.
        A beautiful place that I would love to visit.
        I don’t suppose the visitors/hotel guests dress in early 1900s costume?
        http://www.chrisreevehomepage.com/m-sit.html

      • Ah yes! I had forgotten about “Somewhere in Time”! Nice movie…great actors. The Grand Hotel has a room dedicated to the movie and some memorabilia. The carriage drivers wear period clothing, the horse-driven taxi drivers, delivery people (using horse-pulled flat-bed carts), but the shop keepers and hotel workers wear current clothing. I should post some photos I have. Thanks for writing and for the link!

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Arranged « Mike Hardisty Photography

    • Thank you, zelmare! I think you would do wonderful with this! You are very creative! You can always try the photo challenge. I don’t take a photo that week. I usually find one in my archives that I can use. For instance….the beautiful arches in the church you just went to….those arches are “arranged” in a specific order. See! You have at least one for arrange. I’m trying to think of other posts of yours.
      I think doing the challenges is fun. https://jakesprinter.wordpress.com has the Sunday Water Dragon challenge…and this week is “Nature”. You have TONS of nature photos! If you want to join the Word Press one (arrange) or Jake’s, let me know and I can tell you how to “join up”.
      You’d be great at it!

    • Thank you very much, Judy! How’s the weather up there? Are you still warm or back to “normal”. We are back to “normal” temps here.

  7. Pingback: WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: Arranged – woven decor

    • Thank you! I love the island too…such a nice, slow pace there! I take it you’re not still in SW Michigan! I’m just south of Lansing.
      I’m glad we met through our blogs!

      • Small world! That’s very cool. Wyoming is so beautiful, such a variety of topography and settings. We’ve made a few trips to Yellowstone, the Tetons, and passed through on our way to Glacier. Many many years ago our friends worked on a large ranch near Sheridan, and we stayed with them a week. What an experience! Elk everywhere…listening to coyotes, feeding the ranch hands…it was very interesting. 😉

      • omg! That is too funny! My husband remembered it was the NX “Bar” (bar over the NX) Ranch. He says it was either close to MT or just inside MT. I think to be correct, they were approx. 12 miles from Sheridan (the closest town). The driveway was 5 miles long. I remember being impressed with those numbers! Of course, this was back in ’75! Vintage years before kids! That ranch could have changed hands many times since then! Our friends now live in Pinedale, WY. When we drive through WY I just love to look at the mailboxes, sparsely set along the hwy. and no homes can be seen! I often think of the UPS drivers who may have 5 deliveries in a day!

  8. Judy! You did a wonderful job of capturing the magic of Baltimore’s Inner Harbor. That area has come a long way over the years, and every time I return I’m happy to see it gets better and better. (I grew up in Maryland so I’m always thrilled to see beautiful posts about my state!!)

    🙂
    Elisa

    • Thanks Elisa. I was there for a cousin’s wedding in ’08. I had to crop the foreground a bit. It was a very quick snap, as I recall! Thank you. We took the kids a lonnnnng time ago to the aquarium. That place still knocks me out. Beautiful.

  9. Pingback: An Arranged Affair of a Departed Soul « Simply Charming

I'd love to hear from you~

