Vintage Fun

Hello wonderful blog readers….
We went to the flea/antique market on Sunday….. it’s like being in a candy store for me!  I need a tight rein!
There are so many tempting items, linens & lace, wooden spools, books, old chairs to paint, barn wood, carry-alls, old cameras, old books with good colored covers, ceramics for crafts…and well, the list can go on forever!

......................................

I found some good bargains and one special one.  Ready?   I was excited about this buy!

 This is a Super Ricoh Flex, manufactured in 1956-57 in Japan.   The style reminds me of my old Brownie camera when I was a kid.   But, of course, this is a 35 mm film camera.

                                                   A side view of the Super Ricoh Flex.  The top flips up for access to the viewer.

                                       The camera has been well-loved, as you can see.  The case is still intact, but a bit rough
from use.

Would you like to know more about the Super Ricoh Flex?  Click here to go to the site.
Click here for the link to the antique/flea market.

Good night, dear readers…..sweet dreams!
Judy
All text and images are copyright © 2005-2012 and are the exclusive property of Judy Johnson (unless otherwise indicated). All Rights Reserved. All Images are protected under United States and International copyright laws. None of the images on this site are in the Public Domain. 

 

24 thoughts on “Vintage Fun

  1. Good Find.
    Now the next time you get back to Roch, let me know when you are comming, and we can set up a time for me to take you to the Shop were I am, and also work at.
    One Potato Two in Bloomfield,

    Dick

    • Dick….I wanted to go to your place when we were there a year ago last fall. Nancy S. and I were out shopping and wanted to visit your place. It was on “my list” for our visit. I can’t remember if we ran out of time, or we couldn’t get ahold of you. But it’s definitely on ‘my list’ for the next trip! Bloomfield! What a coincidence! My mom’s side of the family had a farm on Rte.50 (I think) or 2 and 50?? At the top of a hill. But East Bloomfield sticks in my mind for some reason. Lots of fun at the farm….and lots of old B&W photos from there. Thanks for your comments and come back sometime! I have a photo of some of the thread spools I bought with a necklace on them.

    • Plaid Oak….I was so excited to find it, and there are others too. hmmm. Think I might make another trip in the near future.
      I have to cut the rein tho! haha…. Thanks for visiting!

  2. Judy, I LOVE rummaging through antique markets, flea markets, thrift stores, etc. This one looks fabulous. Are you possibly one of my other sisters? I already have four!

    BTW…

    Congratulations! It’s official – The Academy, okay, mj monaghan, has recognized your wonderful blog with the Candle Lighter Award!

    Here’s the envelope with more details: http://wp.me/p1JIsL-cQ!

    • Wow, MJ…thank you so much! I am so honored to receive this award from you, AND the Academy, of course! (she bows)
      Gee, it could be we are related…but does someone have a tight rein on you in flea/antique markets? 😉
      I’m reaching for the envelope now…….

    • I haven’t taken the camera out of the leather case yet. That’s my next project. I wanted to shoot some photos in case the “case” fell apart!
      I love the look of it too. The mall consists of that building, a few Victorian homes that have been turned into shops and also an open barn area where I found a chair to paint. It is a very interesting place. I want to go back! 😉

  3. Ah, a twin lens reflex camera…these models remained fairly popular with wedding photographers well into the past decade.

    One correction, however…I believe (I can’t swear to this) that the entire Richoflex line was made up of medium format, not 35mm, film cameras. These cameras were designed to take 120 roll film and produced 6×6 cm (square) negatives (or transparencies, if you shot positive film). I’m pretty sure that there was an adapter that allowed the use of 35mm film in at least some of the models, however. Don’t quote me on any of this; I’m certainly no TLR expert…I’m going entirely on memory here.

    • Hi Kerry….well you are an expert compared to me! I knew nothing about the Ricoh’s when I bought it. (just liked the design/style/era) I did some research when I got home…on TLR’s. One was the link I included in my post. My husband questioned my statement saying 35 mm. But I told him to look at the side of the case. Stamped on the leather case it clearly says 35 mm. I have nothing else to go by but that! I did read about 6 x 6 cm negatives. So would this camera be on the same order as the much more expensive Rolliflex’s? I do believe you can rest easy and trust your good memory! Thanks for your comments. I want to get inside the camera next! And for the price….I want to go back…they have a Pentax with a Zeiss lens. I want a mini collection for fun and photo shoots.

      • Hi Judy. It’s the same style as a Rollieflex. You can think of it as something akin to buying low-end SLR and comparing it to a high-end SLR: same format, but different manufacturing specifications. The Rolleis were much better made than the Ricohs, and the price reflects that.

        I was very seriously looking into moving from a film SLR to medium format–I was considering a Pentax 6×7 and a couple of Mamiya models–about 10 years ago, which is right about the time that I became convinced–upon the introduction of the Canon 1Ds–that it was only a (short) matter of time before native digital (in a small format camera) image quality would leapfrog that of film and that medium format (film) cameras would all but disappear. It happened even more quickly than I had anticipated. I never looked any of the 6×6 models as possible purchase items at the time, but all of the TLRs I’ve seen were medium format cameras.

      • Kerry, thank you so much for sharing part of your vast knowledge! I apologize, I’m wrong on crediting the 6 x 6 cm format to this camera. I’ve been reading too many articles! I have to agree…the move from film to digital was fast and, what I consider, a great move. I traveled to Italy in ’02, with my Nikon 35 mm AF and a brand new credit card-sized Minolta DiMage Z digital camera. I loved my old Nikon, but the digital Minolta was not only fun to use, but opened up a whole new world to me! Unfortunately, the “Z’s” shutter jammed a couple of years later and it’s waiting for someone to repair it. What a great pocket camera it was! 😉

  4. Oh goodness.. I’d fall in love with this store!! I’ve always imagined my future photography studio with a shelf above the computer/desk area with a line of old vintage cameras. Seems like this would be a good place to shop for that kind of thing! Thanks for sharing, as well as for following my blog! It means a lot.

    • Kate…you and I think alike! In my “art/photo studio-dreams” I have a shelf with old cameras too! In fact, tonight I bought another one on ebay. It’s a Kodak 35 Kodamatic….they started manufacturing them in 1938. One of the reasons I got it is because it is clearly stamped on the leather cover: Rochester, NY….and that’s where I was born and lived for more than a decade! I love your blog, by the way!

  5. I really like this posting and the wonderful imagery of your vintage camera is excellent, I think that using such fine equipment in photographic studies makes for an authentic feel to the results, of course I am not a photographer but I can see that you treasure this Super Ricoh Flex camera and use it rather often I would think…

    I have enjoyed my little tour but
    alas it is 03.02 here and so I must dash…

    Be very well my friend…

    Androgoth

I'd love to hear from you~

