She’s a Survivor

She’s a survivor.  She was born in the cold weather and left to die.  She has endured more than many of her kind, but still lives on.  Fragile?  Not her.  She shows her strength every day in many ways.  Her family did not live to see her attain this stage of life.   They died soon after she was born.  Growing against all odds, she stretches taller, fighting for air, warmth and companionship.  She is lonely, but she does not let that stop her from continuing to persevere.  She is a dreamer.  She dreams of beauty one day…..and to dance in the sun.

Some would say she is ugly, grotesque even.  True, she shows scars from her battles with raging forces.  Scars where there is usually smooth softness.  Mottled color where a lovely palette of color should be.  But she is not ugly, she is beautiful.

The scars are all on the outside.  But inside, is she so different than her sisters, cousins, or those like her anywhere in the world?  Not in the least.  Inside she is as perfect as any of her kind, anywhere in the world.  For her inner beauty is what is important when she opens her arms to the sun.   She stands strong, resilient against the forces.  Waiting for the warmth and the sun.  She’s a survivor.

............

This is a rosebud (and my story character!) found Saturday, December 31st, 2011.  She’s made it through 10″ of heavy snow, ice storms, high wind and torrents of rain.   She’s made it this far.  I know she’ll make it well into 2012!  What tenacity!  We can learn from this little rosebud that won’t give up!

...........................

Good night dear bloggers!
Happy first day of 2012!! ❤
Judy 

35 thoughts on “She’s a Survivor

  1. Nicely written – reading it up to the picture – in my mind I had a woman, a strong woman from a developing country – or a poor poor village. A woman with scars from the ragged environment / and or grime from the hard labor every single minute of the day – And yet surviving and going on with hope in her eyes and her heart 🙂

    Simply a lovely write up. 🙂

    • oops. didn’t open your full comment until just now. I love what you said…yes, but she still has that hope, exactly. I love the way you said it back to me. Thank you for your lovely comments. They mean a lot coming from you.

  2. Great story! 🙂 iLike it, Judy! 🙂

    Especially this paragraphy was excellent:

    “The scars are all on the outside. But inside, is she so different than her sisters, cousins, or those like her anywhere in the world? Not in the least. Inside she is as perfect as any of her kind, anywhere in the world. For her inner beauty is what is important when she opens her arms to the sun. She stands strong, resilient against the forces. Waiting for the warmth and the sun. She’s a survivor.”

    What a great metaphor!! 😀

    Like Amira, I also thought you were talking about a young woman in the beginning part of the story! lol … But then you surprised me!! Great one! … Unlike Amira, I actually didn’t picture a poor woman from developing country. 🙂 I just imagined a girl, without thinking of her social background, but one who others see as “ugly” for whatever reason (obesity, or real scar on her face due to domestic violence/accident, or just not falling in the “standard” category of what’s considered beautiful in the mainstream). But when I read Amira’s comment, that too is a great way to look at it! 😀

    You made us go all over the map, Judy!! lol great twist in the end!! 🙂

    Happy January First 2012!! Yep, Twenty Eleven is goooooooooone!! 😀

    • Thank you, Elyas! I don’t consider myself a writer. But hanging around my blog friends has inspired me. So, thank you for your inspiration and your great writing! I wanted it to be a surprise! I’m so happy it worked! 😉 And I like your take on it too. It’s wonderful to see how many turns it can take….but it still comes back to the same conclusion. Inner beauty is most important, and we are all the same, all over the world.

      • You are an awesome writer! 🙂 Write more and more!! 😀 I really like the way you write! I too don’t consider myself a writer yet. So we all rocking the same boat! lol … Dont worry! I love your writing! So just keep at it! 🙂

      • Elyas– (I just wrote demonsking)>>I think that was the only one in my head!!! I’ll have to do some pondering. This is new to me. But without all my blogger friends (and my daughter!) encouraging and inspiring me I would never have had the courage to even do one creative writing post!! So thank you sooo much! I love the ‘rocking the same boat’ thought….;)

      • That’s right Judy.
        I don’t consider myself as a “writer”.
        I just blabber, rant and rave …
        and it’s people like you and the rest of the blogging community with their likes and comments that keep me going.
        so yes! we are in the same boat.

        [and the boat is heading to the Maldives 🙂 ]

      • Oh I’m thrilled! I’ve always wanted to go to the Maldives! 😉 Seriously, Amira…I cannot picture you as “just a blabber, rant and rave”…no!
        You have a purpose and direction in all your writing. I’ll try it again, for sure…because of the support of our “little community” here. I feel safe here and I’m glad I landed within this fine group of people. The feedback from our little community has really boosted my confidence. Come back soon after those first ticks on the check list! I’ll miss you! ❤

  3. Lovely shots! You are a wonderful photographer, Judy!
    She is beautiful, and lucky too. Reminded me of O. Henry’s famous short story, The Last Leaf. And, I got the message for the new year.

    • Bindu….thank you so much! Like I said in earlier comments, I have never considered myself a writer, but I have been inspired by the writing that you and my other blog friends do…so thank you for supporting me on this! (and I was very happy with the photos too! thanks!)

    • hahaha…yes…I know it’s hard to believe demonsking! But I have been influenced by such wonderful writers such as you and other blog friends. I decided to take a shot at it. I do not consider myself a writer! I am thrilled it’s Bombastic! That is outta sight! Thank you, Panda 😉

      • Demonsking….I really think that was the only one inside my head! you are very kind… Yes-you had words! You said Bombastic! I like that!

  4. Aw, that touched me! I’ve been taking care of a little dionaea carnivorous plant, and I’m hoping to do it right so she can survive as well… Nicely written post, I really enjoyed it 🙂

    • Hi Sara…If you are taking care of it for someone else….I surely understand! Thank you for your compliment and also for visiting! Come back again!

  5. Amazing! Beautiful and wonderful words to use as inspiration in the days/years to come! Love it!! Keep writing—you have found yet another talent!

    • Thank you, Jake! I appreciate your comments. I was just on your site…and was impressed as usual! Excellent graphics, great text, too! Best of luck in ’12 to you, too!

  6. Wow, Judy.. I was just lost in the story… At first I imagined a Human(girl) .. As i read more.. 😉 I was surprised that it was Rosebud .. Beautifully written .. And Your photography is Awesomely Awesome …. Loved the way you written.. 🙂

    • khushbu…..your comments mean a lot to me! That was the direction I was going with the story…I’m so glad it “worked”! I was happy with those photos, too! Thank you!

  7. Thank you for stopping by my blog. I’m glad we connected and I look forward to your posts. 😉 ♥Happy ♥New ♥Year ♥ & TY for the blog love! 🙂

    • hahaha….yes! Cali would have been a much more gentle environment for them! Agreed! Thanks for the thumb’s up on my first writing. I appreciate it.

I'd love to hear from you~

