Eating Acorns?

Eating Acorns???  Have I got a great treat for you!  Some of you may have seen this on the internet already.  I saw it first on Pinterest…http://pinterest.com/.

 

These Acorns are just YUMMY!

I traced down a website with a recipe, although just looking at the yummy acorns, you can figure out how they are made.  But I want to give credit to the website since it is not my recipe idea.  Here’s the website: http://bargainhoot.com/  (<recipe is here)

Recipe
You’ll need: 1 bag of Mini Nutter Butters
Bag of Hershey’s Kisses
1 Bag of chocolate chips
Melt 1/2 cup chocolate chips in micro for 30 sec., then 10 sec. intervals, stirring, until chips are melted and smooth. This is your Acorn “glue”.
Using a small knife, place a tiny amount of melted chocolate on one side of a Nutter Butter and stick a Kiss on it.  On the other side, put a teensy bit of melted chocolate and stick one chocolate chip for the “stem”.  Set aside on waxed paper to dry and harden.

  Try to keep your family away from them!!  Actually this is a great family activity.  Set up an assembly line and mass-produce Acorns!   Store in an air-tight container.
**Note: if your child is allergic to peanut butter, substitute Mini Nilla Wafers or Mini Ritz Crackers 

I made them this afternoon and had to take my photos quickly!  My family was enjoying eating them so much I thought I might not have enough left for a photo!  They were starting to act a little “squirrelly” too!  ;)

If you like peanut butter and chocolate….you are in luck!  Have fun and enjoy making these sweet, photogenic fall goodies!

4 thoughts on “Eating Acorns?

  1. Can’t wait to do this yummy project with my grandchildren. The assembly line concept will be a winner and we will all enjoy the end result!

I'd love to hear from you~

