Whimsical Architectural Reflections

Architecture is the very mirror of life.You only have to cast your eyes on buildings to feel the presence of the past, the spirit of a place; they are the reflection of society”.  ~I. M. Pei  Les Grands desseins du Louvre (with E J Biasini)

I love architecture from all periods and cultures in the history of the world.  I’m also fond of reflections, whether it’s in a mirror, window, water, or a glass building.  I have a series of tall buildings from a recent trip to Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA.  These structures show reflections of buildings adjacent to them.  You will note many different styles of architecture, but the reflections are whimsical.

The glass in which they are reflected throws off their balance and perfect structure; their straight steel beams and their arched windows now appear to be broken, twisted, wavy or curvy.

Come enjoy my Whimsical Architectural Reflections, and be glad that they are only reflections.

This building (above) was the hotel we stayed in.

This one looks like a topsy-turvy sand castle to me!

Grand Rapids is the second largest city in Michigan, following Detroit in population and size.  It’s a great city to visit. Click here to find out more about Grand Rapids.

Judy

14 thoughts on “Whimsical Architectural Reflections

    • It is a lovely town, so clean and beautiful. We always love going there! You’re right….the mix of old and new architecture is really cool. I have more pix! We walked around the day after Kara’s graduation…that’s where these photos came from.

  1. Spectacular images of Grand Rapids amazing architectural gems. Love the whimsical effects. It created a fun, mysterious, playful effect. And yes, I’m glad that it’s only a reflection. That’ll be crazy in the real world if the buildings are all distorted and tilted like it’s about to fall particularly the last photo. Thanks my friend…what an adventure!

    • Thank you, IT. When I was posting…all of a sudden I thought of places where hurricanes or wars have destroyed buildings and I didn’t mean to make “light” of it in my post. That’s why I mentioned that. So many places in the world are suffering from destruction of their homelands, their beautiful architectural masterpieces…and I was worried that my post would be taken the wrong way. But thank you for seeing the silly looking “Dr. Seuss” type buildings in the reflections!

I'd love to hear from you~

