Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting Moment

“Life is one of those precious fleeting gifts,

and everything can change in a heartbeat.”

~anonymous

**********************

The butterfly holds its position for a very brief time, then flits to another flower to eat, its rest lasting only a fleeting moment.
I’ve found that when visiting flowers butterflies are still for just a fleeting moment.  They open and shut their wings, quiver and then they’re gone!  To find one sitting perfectly still
is an absolute joy for the photographer~if you can find a fleeting moment in your life to capture one of these beauties! 

“To photograph is to hold one’s breath, when all faculties converge to capture fleeting reality.  It’s at that precise moment that mastering an image becomes a great physical and
intellectual joy.”  ~Henri Cartier-Bresson (French Photographer 1908-2004)

And this one from Pink Floyd~

“When I was a child

I caught a fleeting glimpse

Out of the corner of my eye.

I turned to look but it was gone

I cannot put my finger on it now

The child is grown,

The dream is gone.

I have become comfortably numb.”

~From the song by Pink Floyd, “Comfortably Numb”, from the album “The Wall”, 1979.

*the photo was taken in the gardens of the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island, Michigan.

Judy

All text and images are copyright © 2002-2012 and are the exclusive property of Judy Johnson (unless otherwise indicated). All Rights Reserved. All Images are protected under United States and International copyright laws. None of the images on this site are in the Public Domain.

28 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting Moment

    • zelmare, you are so sweet. Thank you. I know, when I see good quotes on other blogs, I think “write it down”! But I forget. I’ll have to start doing that!

    • Madhu! I didn’t even catch that part of the song. Good for you….that goes right along with the theme! Bravo! That is one of the MOST fleeting times isn’t it? ;)

  1. Wow wow wow, what a stunning photo, you captured that fleeting moment beautifully well ! These butterflies are so beautiful and big ! When my echinaceas are blooming butterflies like these stand still on top of the cone for long periods of time. I noticed that it’s the only flowers on which they stay for so long. You made such a great post for this photo challenge and I adore the quote of Henri Cartier-Bresson. I’ll write it down and post it on my facebook page !

    • Thank you, Jocelyne! When I saw that quote…I thought: I have to use that…I love it! (and he’s French!) My echinaceas are just starting to bloom…the very top ones at the tips. I love to watch the butterflies around them too. Maybe this year I can snap some with the camera!

I'd love to hear from you~

