Nature and a new vase……

My children gave me a sleek, black leather vintage vase for Christmas.  Of course I had to play with it….so into the vase went:
Red Osier Dogwood branches  (Red Twig Dogwood)
Weeping Birch branches
Wild Rose branches with rose hips on them……..

......................

The branches are tangled after two seasons in my house; going into and out of different containers.  There’s another reason they are tangled.  Do you know what it is?   It’s those thorns!   Wild Roses have lots of thorns!  ;)

But actually, I don’t mind the thorns.  I love the roses that come in the spring and summer, with their delicate scent wafting across the yard.   They are small and white with a tiny yellow center.   And they are very delicate, like fine bone china.   In the fall, when the rose petals drop,  I look forward to the rose hips~ first green, then turning red, and finally reddish-orange.  I never thought they were edible, but recently I read about Rose Hip Jam and other items made from them.

.............

So how could I be angry with the thorns, when the Wild Rose bush gives me so much joy?

I found a quote that mirrors my thoughts:
“You can complain because roses have thorns, or you can rejoice because thorns have roses.”

Then my thoughts turned to life.  There are thorns in each of our lives…those things that irritate us, make us upset, sad, or angry.  But if we look around we should be able to find something that brings us happiness, love, serenity or joy….and helps us weather the storm.
In every cloud there is a silver lining…..we just need to look~

Good night my friends~
Judy

17 thoughts on “Nature and a new vase……

  1. so very true. for the optimists at heart life is full of things to be thankful.
    and that’s the way to go :)
    we sometimes need someone to remind us of that …

    • Thank you Amira. I don’t mean that we are to avoid the thorns of life/to stick our heads in the sand like ostriches and ignore what is going on in our country or in other countries, where we can do something to help. I was writing about when we are up against emotions of our own. There are so many facets to this! So many ways to look at “thorns and life”… thanks for writing.

  2. That is a beautiful gift Judy!! :D Lucky you!! :)

    And I love the quote!

    “You can complain because roses have thorns, or you can rejoice because thorns have roses.”

    What a beautiful saying!!! :) It’s all about attitude, right? lol … Let me steal the quote on attitude from Khushbu’s last entry:

    “Your attitude, not your aptitude, will determine your altitude”

    (http://jennyjain.wordpress.com/2011/12/19/a-z-motivation/)
    :D

    The two quotes go together so well!
    :)

    Happy Holidays to you and your awesome family!

    Cheers,

    • Elyas….as always you have such a way with words! You are my hero! Yes…Khushbu’s quote does match up! I do love what she writes. (have I been wrong to call her Jenny? oops) I have a favor to ask you. I am embarrassed to admit this….but I am technologically inept at times…;) I cannot get the blog award to show on my page. Can you tell me how to do that? I’ve tried different things but they didn’t work! Thank you, Elyas!

  3. To be concise…look on the bright side. :)

    Re the images…nicely seen. I particularly like the first image still life. That’s an extremely well-executed still life.

    • Oh my, you have no idea what a compliment from a wonderful photographer like you does to an amateur like me. I am humbled and flattered. Thank you so very much. You certainly brought “roses” to my day!! ;) Keep on posting those fab photos….

  4. Wow, Beautiful Quote Judy.. “You can complain because roses have thorns, or you can rejoice because thorns have roses.” ..
    Very Positive&Uplifting lines
    “we should be able to find something that brings us happiness, love, serenity or joy” .. I can find it in Your Beautiful Website Judy :)

    • Khushbu….I say the very same things about you! ;) Thank you very much, my friend. Did you know that Elyas read both of our posts and “borrowed” your quote to show me how alike our quotes were? Your lovely quote: “your attitude, not your aptitude, will determine your altitude.”…he compared to “You can complain because roses have thorns….” the quote you have above. He said: The two quotes go together so well! They do!
      I love to read your blog. You are awesome! :) Thank you for your compliments!

    • Thank you Jake…..I appreciate that. I stand in awe of your posts! I have no idea how they are done. That is all graphic art, correct? It’s amazing. Do you start with a photo and then work your magic?

I'd love to hear from you~

